Bank transfers - Are the rules the same in every country for every bank?
Thread poster: Fan Gao
Fan Gao
Fan Gao
Australia
Local time: 21:23
English to Chinese
+ ...
Mar 2, 2007

Hi,
I was just wondering if anyone knew or had a document available that listed the following information I'm after:

For example, if an agency in the UK pays me GBP via Chaps to my GBP bank account in London then I receive the funds the same day. What if an agency in Germany pays Euros to my GBP account in London, how long should that take?

I used to work in a bank but I never worked in the area that dealt with international payments so I'm a bit clueless when it
... See more
Hi,
I was just wondering if anyone knew or had a document available that listed the following information I'm after:

For example, if an agency in the UK pays me GBP via Chaps to my GBP bank account in London then I receive the funds the same day. What if an agency in Germany pays Euros to my GBP account in London, how long should that take?

I used to work in a bank but I never worked in the area that dealt with international payments so I'm a bit clueless when it comes to this. I remember customers having the option of "economy" or "express" payments with a higher charge for the latter to speed things up, but is there a standard time period for international payments that works for all currencies in whichever country and for whichever bank?

Also, if you receive a currency that is different to the currency that your account is based in, does the conversion of the funds cause a time delay for you to receive the credit to your account?

Thanks in advance for any info you can share.

Best wishes,
Mark
Collapse

Angeliki Papadopoulou
Angeliki Papadopoulou  Identity Verified
Greece
Local time: 14:23
English to Greek
+ ...
As far as I know... Mar 2, 2007