Mobile menu

First Spanish to English translation job
Thread poster: Pocketwatcher
English to Spanish
May 2, 2007

I recently acquired a bit of translation work from a woman who wanted a fluent Spanish speaker to translate a number of newspaper articles written in Bolivia. I am a freshman in college and have never done any translation work before. My Spanish is pretty well-developed from five years of language study and time spent in Latin America, but because this is my first forray into translation, I am uncertain of what to charge. Any suggestions?

Direct link Reply with quote

GoodWords  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:31
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Do a market survey May 3, 2007

When I was in your situation, I called several local translation agencies, described the translation to them and asked their price. I used that information to set my price. You can also view the rates of other Proz users who have chosen to make their rates public.

ViktoriaG  Identity Verified
Local time: 00:31
English to French
+ ...
It depends May 3, 2007

This will largely depend on where your client is and who she is. If the translation is done for a company and if said company is in the "Western" market, you may want to charge the average market rate. However, if you are doing this work for an individual who is not on the "Western" market, then it's a different story. You need to determine what market your client belongs to and charge accordingly.