Mobile menu

Invoicing US from Spain
Thread poster: J. Calzado

J. Calzado
Local time: 15:20
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jan 15, 2003

I am a Spanish translator living in Spain and I have no idea how to invoice an US agency from Spain. I believe EU freelancers do not have to apply VAT for USA clients, do we? Is any tax to be applied? It is also very tempting not to declare anything in Spain. Could anyone give any advice on this? Thank you all.

Direct link Reply with quote

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 15:20
English to German
+ ...
Consult a tax advisor for a precise answer Jan 15, 2003

Quote:

On 2003-01-15 10:22, JCD wrote:

I am a Spanish translator living in Spain and I have no idea how to invoice an US agency from Spain. I believe EU freelancers do not have to apply VAT for USA clients, do we?

Not that I\'m aware of (and I have invoiced US clients from Germany).

Quote:
Is any tax to be applied? It is also very tempting not to declare anything in Spain. Could anyone give any advice on this?

That one is simple, even though I have no idea about Spanish taxation - sounds like tax evasion to me...

OlafK
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:20
English to German
+ ...
It is definitely tax evasion... Jan 19, 2003

...and not a very intelligent idea to discuss this in a forum on the Internet.

[ This Message was edited by:on2003-01-20 01:50]

Adrian Woods
Spanish to English
Tax Status - Billing U.S. Jan 29, 2003

Quote:

On 2003-01-15 10:22, JCD wrote:

I am a Spanish translator living in Spain and I have no idea how to invoice an US agency from Spain. I believe EU freelancers do not have to apply VAT for USA clients, do we? Is any tax to be applied? It is also very tempting not to declare anything in Spain. Could anyone give any advice on this? Thank you all.

No VAT, no withholding if you claim (and are eligible for) \"Non Resident Alien\" status.