Late paying agency: How to ensure I get paid?
Thread poster: Atanaska Ivanova-Massart

Atanaska Ivanova-Massart
Luxembourg
Local time: 14:42
English to Bulgarian
+ ...
Jul 6, 2007

Hi,

I am a freelance translator living in Bulgaria and working mainly for UK agencies. One agency is now 2 months overdue with payment of an invoice for a significant amount of money. Can anybody give me advice on what my legal options are for ensuring I get paid. Would this be under UK or Bulgarian law? The payment should be received into a UK account.

Thank you for your help.

Regards,
Atanaska

Direct link Reply with quote

Tobi
English to German
+ ...
Did you already contact them? Jul 6, 2007

First of all, you should contact the company. The further proceeding depends on the result of this communication.
Did they simply to forget to pay in time? Some companies always wait for a first reminder before they pay.

Atanaska Ivanova-Massart
Luxembourg
English to Bulgarian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
multiple contacts on reporting the payment problem Jul 6, 2007

Tobi wrote:

First of all, you should contact the company. The further proceeding depends on the result of this communication.
Did they simply to forget to pay in time? Some companies always wait for a first reminder before they pay.

Dear Tobi,
thanks for your comment.
I have contacted them about 4 times now reporting that I have not got the payment yet (Given that my jobs for them started in April).
What happens is, the Manager normally tells me something along the lines: 'payment should be received earlier next week' or 'payment should be received by the end of next week' or 'you are likely to be in the next Pay Run'.
I have done a job for them in June, too, but my confidence in this agency is melting and I wonder if I should keep doing jobs for them when I have not got a single payment from them.

Tim Drayton  Identity Verified
Cyprus
Local time: 15:42
Turkish to English
+ ...
Possible course of action Jul 6, 2007