What is best to avoid bank fees: Paypal, Moneybookers?
Thread poster: Catherine Gorton
Catherine Gorton
Catherine Gorton
Local time: 09:45
French to English
+ ...
Jul 20, 2007

Hi, I live in the UK and my French customer accepted to pay in GBP upon reception of the invoice. However, I still get charged 7 GBP per payment through my bank. The reason for this (though the customer also pays bank fees) is that my bank and their bank don't work together but via another bank. I don't know a lot about Paypal or Moneybookers. Can I avoid having this additional fee of 7 GBP each time I receive a payment? I am only a part-time translator (evening) as I take care of my baby son, s... See more
Hi, I live in the UK and my French customer accepted to pay in GBP upon reception of the invoice. However, I still get charged 7 GBP per payment through my bank. The reason for this (though the customer also pays bank fees) is that my bank and their bank don't work together but via another bank. I don't know a lot about Paypal or Moneybookers. Can I avoid having this additional fee of 7 GBP each time I receive a payment? I am only a part-time translator (evening) as I take care of my baby son, so every penny counts! If I did want to apply for some small jobs advertised on Proz (under 50 EUR for example) this fee would really hit me hard!
I do have a bank account in EUR (Germany) but I think for tax reasons I ought not to use it, or am I wrong?
Collapse

Steven Capsuto
Steven Capsuto  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:45
Member (2004)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Moneybookers has lower fees Jul 20, 2007

These days I use Paypal only if Moneybookers is not an option.

Marie-Hélène Hayles
Marie-Hélène Hayles  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:45
Italian to English
+ ...
Moneybookers Jul 20, 2007

As far as I am aware it's cheaper than Paypal for you and your client, so everyone's happy.