Question about project management and contract.
Thread poster: Flora Perez
Flora Perez
Flora Perez
Spain
Local time: 13:46
English to Spanish
+ ...
Aug 22, 2007

Hi, this is my situation:

I have been working for my first client for two months at a part-time basis, basically subtitling for DVD's (not translation, just spotting from the translated full dialogue) They want me to keep working with them doing the same job and also as a project manager and, thus, launch the subtitling department. It sounds really interesting, doesn't it?

The problem is that I have been told to stay in an office for the whole day, without any contract,
... See more
Hi, this is my situation:

I have been working for my first client for two months at a part-time basis, basically subtitling for DVD's (not translation, just spotting from the translated full dialogue) They want me to keep working with them doing the same job and also as a project manager and, thus, launch the subtitling department. It sounds really interesting, doesn't it?

The problem is that I have been told to stay in an office for the whole day, without any contract, and being a freelancer. Apparently, I will have a minimum pay. But I haven't been told how much and I don't think they want to pay me a decent salary, for what I've seen so far (they told me I can ear from 900€ to 2000€), depending on how long I'm determined to stay in the office.

I have heard this situation is not legal, so I would like to ask them, either have a contract with a minimum salay + projects (which they pay me for 200 € each, and it takes me one week to do them properly) and accept their "funny" rates, or work from home and do just the projects for them.

so I would like to know:

1- whether working as a freelance in a specific office for X hours a day is actually legal or not (my client says we work per project, but everyone there has a timetible to follow, so it's actually per hours)