Rates going down: a global trend?
Thread poster: LoyalTrans
LoyalTrans
LoyalTrans
Local time: 21:32
English to Chinese
+ ...
Oct 17, 2007

I have been hanging around here for several months and from the posts I have read, I feel that a lot of the freelancers are not particularly satisfied with the rates the agency offers. And I have also seen some discussions on the plummeting of translation charges due to ever fierce competition. So is this a global trend?

I only have some knowledge of the translation market in China. Sadly, this downturn trend holds true. Several years ago, the market rate as I know is about 1.5 time
... See more
I have been hanging around here for several months and from the posts I have read, I feel that a lot of the freelancers are not particularly satisfied with the rates the agency offers. And I have also seen some discussions on the plummeting of translation charges due to ever fierce competition. So is this a global trend?

I only have some knowledge of the translation market in China. Sadly, this downturn trend holds true. Several years ago, the market rate as I know is about 1.5 times higher. Taking inflation and a booming Chinese economy into consideration, this is just absurd.

There seems to be a vicious cycle there. Low prices squeezed good translators out, forcing them to find other types of jobs (yes they can if they are really good), and the vacancies are then filled with inexperienced/student translators who produce low quality deliveries. I did outsourcing several times, and was satisfied just for once. Although I am now far from an industry insider, neither making a living via freelancing nor running a translation business, I still see and hear a lot how the present Chinese translation market is full of low-quality translators and bad or even non-paying agencies. The prospect is rather pessimistic.