Thread poster: Guillaume Wehrlen

Guillaume Wehrlen
France
Local time: 18:06
Spanish to French
+ ...
Nov 10, 2007

Hi !

I wonder how I would have to charge for translating a script for a movie to be dubbed. Is it paid by hour ? Could I simply charge according to my rate by source word and multiplying it by the amount of words I translate in an hour ? Should I charge a little bit more due to the fact that I have to make the number of syllables match ? Or a little bit less because I'm a beginner ?

Thanks in advance for your advice,

By the way sorry for my rather poor level in English, hope what I've written is understandable, it's not in my language pairs but I'm working to improve it !

Best regards,

Guillaume.

Direct link Reply with quote

José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 13:06
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Minute of playing time Nov 10, 2007

Video translation, either for dubbing or subtitling, is normally charged per minute of total playing time.

The Brazilian translators syndicate - of which I am not a member - suggests charging twice as much per minute for dubbing than for subtitling. I wonder if any client would pay that much, even here.

They also include a substantial plus to the suggested price when the original script is not provided.

Quite frankly, as I began translating for dubbing about 20 years ago, and seldom was given a script, I don't charge differently with or without a script. I began translating for subtitling about 3 years ago, using the same rates as for dubbing.

Other pricing methods for translation for dubbing are:

- per package - usually when a translator is hired for a batch of movies, or on a rather permanent basis. A fixed amount is set for a whole full-feature movie, in the 90-160 minutes range.

- per word - this is a risky system for the client, however it is considered adequate for extremely technical films, where extensive termninology research may be required.

HTH.

Guillaume Wehrlen
France