Mobile menu

What to charge for literary translation?
Thread poster: Vera Malbaski
Vera Malbaski
Local time: 00:09
Spanish to English
Dec 19, 2007

Hi Everyone,
I've been asked to translate 3 books from English to Spanish. The subject is to do with complementary medicine (which I am very interested in on a personal level). I have been doing voluntary translations for a related site for a while now, which is how I got referred for the translation job.
Even though I have a lot of translation experience in my working life, I have not done any as large as this as a freelancer.
The first book is 38.500 words, which to me is a really good opportunity but I'm not sure what to charge. The author has offered to either pay a flat rate or give me a % of book sales. Due to my circumstances I really need to charge a fee as I can't wait for sales to receive an income (which might be more profitable in the long run - but, never mind).
As far as I understand, the going rate in Spain is aprox. 12-15 cents (Euros) and I have offered 7 cents (which I would be quite happy with) but even so it seems like a lot of money and I'm not sure the author would be happy with it. I know it could lead to more referrals and more work.
Can anyone please advise me as to the best way forward with this? I don't want to lose the job, but I don't want to be taken for a ride either.
Thanks for all your help. Best wishes.

Direct link Reply with quote

nordiste  Identity Verified
Local time: 00:09
Member (2005)
English to French
+ ...
contract with the publisher ? Dec 19, 2007

Usually the translation of a book is ordered and paid by an editor, not by the author.

The translation price is usually divided into a flat fee (based on number of pages/lines/words) which is paid upfront + a % of the sales.

Contact a litterary translators association for advice regarding the contract.

Juliana Starkman  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:09
Spanish to English
+ ...
Check your category... Dec 20, 2007