Payment from Portugal to UK resident-double taxation
Thread poster: Abigail Elvins

Abigail Elvins  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 10:12
Portuguese to English
Jan 23, 2008

Dear All,

I'm fairly new to all this so was delighted to do some translation work for an agency based in Portugal last October. The agreed payment came to about 500 euros.

As time went by and no payment was forthcoming I emailed them and was eventually told that as I was a UK resident, in order to avoid double taxation (ie them taking off 25% of my earnings before paying me) I would have to fill in a form and get it stamped by the tax office. The form showed my address and the amount of money I had earned. I got this stamped at the beginning of January.

Now the agency have said that the legislation changed on 31st December 2007, so if the form was stamped after this date, it would be of no use and I would have to do something else - presumably fill in a different form. They haven't told me yet.

I wanted to ask if any of you have come up against this, either with a Portuguese agency or one in another EU country. What is this new legislation? Is the agency just stalling, do you think???

Thanks for reading - any advice/insights/suggestions gratefully received!!

Abi

[Edited at 2008-01-24 12:50]

Direct link Reply with quote

Ivana de Sousa Santos  Identity Verified
Portugal
French to Portuguese
+ ...
Payment from Portugal to UK resident-double taxation Jan 24, 2008

Hello Abi,

I've been following your post since yesterday and saw nobody gave you a clue about your doubt.

I don't even know the answer to your question, but I can tell you that yes, some legislation related to fiscal issues inside companies has been introduced, but I don't know exactly what changed (I can get informed though).

However, I don't think it has something to do with double taxation issues.

Let me search and ask some questions...

Sabine Akabayov, PhD
Israel
Local time: 12:12
Member (2011)
English to German