Best approach to increasing rates
Thread poster: Rob Grayson

Rob Grayson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:49
French to English
Jan 24, 2008

Hello everyone,

This is a follow-up to my previous post about the phenomenon of translators working for very low rates. Thanks to everyone who contributed to that post; I was surprised by both the quantity and depth of responses!

I place myself firmly among those who believe that a quality, professional job deserves a decent level of remuneration. At the same time, I am still relatively new to this business (< 2 years), and though my rates are within the average band, I feel that there is room to increase them. This is a simple matter when dealing with first-time requests from new clients; but when 90% of your work comes from existing agency clients, some of whom are more aggressive and price-sensitive than others, negotiating rate increases can be a tricky business.

And so to my question: what are the most effective ways to persuade existing clients (especially agencies) to accept rate increases without damaging the business relationship, and possibly without driving down the volume of work? I appreciate that there is no magic formula, but would be especially interested in hearing best practice from those who have learnt by experience in this area.

Let's see whether this one generates as much of a response! (Though I think 92 replies could be hard to beat...)

Thanks,

Rob

Direct link Reply with quote

Vadim Poguliaev  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 19:49
English to Russian
my X cents Jan 24, 2008

In early december I sent the following message to two of my oldest customers (first sentence differed a bit, but it's not important)

At first I'd like to thank you for ongoing support - so far you resolved all the issues raised to my favor, and I really appreciate it.
Truly you are one of my best clients, your jobs are always a pleasure, and cooperation with PMs is on high level.