Thread poster: Lucia Fusco
Lucia Fusco
Lucia Fusco  Identity Verified
New Zealand
Local time: 03:50
Italian
+ ...
Feb 15, 2008

I am a UK based translator and I translated for an Indian agency and the amount due was above 800 usd by bank transfer.
I have patiently been waiting for some delay in payment and other administrative problems frome them as the communicaton has always been good.
Today I receive an email saying:

"Hi:

While making out payment, the taxation rules between India and UK state that 20% tax to be deducted from payment.

The tax deduction certificate
... See more
I am a UK based translator and I translated for an Indian agency and the amount due was above 800 usd by bank transfer.
I have patiently been waiting for some delay in payment and other administrative problems frome them as the communicaton has always been good.
Today I receive an email saying:

"Hi:

While making out payment, the taxation rules between India and UK state that 20% tax to be deducted from payment.

The tax deduction certificate will also be sent to you.

Regards"

I think this is extremely unfair and unprofessional. I also signed a contract with them where no taxtation was stated, and it was clearly stated my word rate.
What should I do? I already replied explaining my reasons, and also that as I will pay my taxes once I make my yearly income statement I don't see why I have to see a further 20% deduction on my rates and saying that I hope they understand...but I am very worried.
Any suggestion would be apreciated!
Thank you!
Collapse

Paul Adie (X)
Paul Adie (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
Spanish to English
+ ...
Difficult one Feb 15, 2008