Off topic: World Environment Day- June 5
Thread poster: Rosina Peixoto

Rosina Peixoto  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 05:00
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jun 5, 2008

Is there a worldwide awareness of environmental issues?

What do you think of this:"Water is not running out: it is simply that there are steadily more of us to share it"?

Direct link Reply with quote

Atena Hensch  Identity Verified
New Zealand
Local time: 20:00
English to Farsi (Persian)
+ ...
global warming Jun 5, 2008

In my city (Christchurch, New Zealand), we had an expo from Environment Canterbury and Greenpeace, sustainability (a govt sector) and the local govt. were involved

It's all about Global Warming. We need to use less fuel, take care of our natural resources and consider our children and grandchildren.

Rosina Peixoto  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 05:00
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Clean Up the World Jun 6, 2008

I used to be a teacher and our institute was a member of the international non-profit organization Clean Up the World. We conducted a campaign to collect paper and cardboard to be recycled. The students also "taught" their parents what they had learned in our classes about ecology and how to preserve it. Once we went out all together and picked up litter in squares and parks! We were authorised by the Local Town Hall. It was a rewarding job and also fun.

Eleni Makantani
Greece
Local time: 11:00
English to Greek
+ ...
Wildfires Jun 6, 2008

Summer used to be my favourite time of the year... until last year.