Thread poster: Friderike Butler

Friderike Butler  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:06
German to English
+ ...
Oct 12, 2008

Dear Fellow Translators Around the World,

I am a full-time freelancer in the US and love this profession and everything related to it. To spread my enthusiasm about my native language, German, I have begun teaching German beginner's language classes our local elemantary schools as part of an after-school program. With only one hour per week, the progress we can make in the course of one year is somewhat limited, but it is a start and I have a chance to talk to the kids about the beautiful country I grew up in and hopefully create enough curiosity so they will want to learn more or maybe even travel to Germany one day.

With this year's Kindergarten and First grade class (5 + 6-year olds) I am trying something new. I am taking the kids on a virtual tour around the world. The first lesson was spent looking at the globe, the different continents, climate zones, we have listened to and started to learn a song that teaches how to say 'hello' in 10 different languages. we will make a passport for everyone and we are now ready to discover the world.

Of course there are a ton of books available that talk about every country under the sun and I have a good idea how to structure my 2x 1-hour visits per country on a level that is fun and educational for these young kids, but the more I mulled the project around in my head, the more I felt an urge to go further and I started to visualize a dream.