Mobile menu

Off topic: Tip: Breaking Caffeine's Spell
Thread poster: Borana Moisiu
Borana Moisiu
Local time: 23:39
English to Albanian
+ ...
Nov 6, 2003

As you can tell, I am a fan of Doctor Weil. By the way, can we have a Health Forum here in Proz???

Tip: Breaking Caffeine's Spell

We may not think about it as we're having a second cup of coffee or another can of cola, but caffeine is an addictive drug that four out of five American adults use every day. The problem with caffeine is that people love the "rush" - they feel more awake, more energized and more productive - but hate the "crash," which is accompanied by symptoms such as irritability, headaches and sluggishness, indicating to the body that it needs more caffeine.

If you feel you may be addicted to caffeine and wish to give it up, try doing so at a time when you are most relaxed, such as a long weekend. Make a commitment to try three caffeine-free days, and see how you feel afterwards. Be prepared to experience tiredness, irritability and a very bad headache, especially after avoiding caffeine for 24 hours. Prepare for these side effects by keeping yourself busy: take walks, spend time in the garden, or do other light, soothing activities. Avoid anything that may aggravate a headache, such as prolonged TV watching or reading in low light. These side-effects will eventually diminish - and are worth it in the long run.

If the side-effects are too much for you, consider weaning yourself off caffeine by gradually reducing your intake. Substitute green tea or decaffeinated coffee for caffeinated coffee, and drink water or fruit juice mixed with sparkling water in lieu of cola. Breathing exercises, physical exercise and a diet rich in whole grains, fruits and vegetables may also help reduce the severity of side-effects.

Direct link Reply with quote

Christine Andersen  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:39
Member (2003)
Danish to English
+ ...
Do you WANT to break caffeine's spell? Nov 6, 2003