Off topic: To all the translators In India
Thread poster: Ruchira Shukla
Ruchira Shukla
India
Local time: 13:44
English to Japanese
+ ...
Nov 10, 2003

What do you people think of Translation as a profession in India.. What sort of opportunities does it offer us .. Is it a good choice as a full term profession.. does free lancing give you enough jobs to make a decent living .. or is it too risky a thing to do….. for better opportunities should something else be added on to your language degree.. (Japanese degree plus MBA or a technical qualification ??)
I work as a Japanese translator in an IT firm and we go through the typical see saw of lots of projects – lots of work and no software projects so no work ..
Would love to have your opinions ..
Regards
Ruchira

Direct link Reply with quote

xxxMarc P  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:14
German to English
+ ...
Translation in India Nov 10, 2003

I have recently been investigating the general picture of the profession in India. It seems that the Indian languages themselves are not accorded much status. Is this true? For instance, the Indian Scientific Translators Association has a directory of translators offering "foreign" languages at http://education.vsnl.com/ista/Dirconcise , but I can find no corresponding list of translators for the Indian languages.

I'm also surprised to see that no Indian organization is represented in the FIT.

Marc

sandhya  Identity Verified
Member (2003)
German to English
+ ...
being self-employed has its risks... and Nov 11, 2003

... benefits!
I am a freelance translator since 12 years and have never worked for any company full-time! I make a great living, which has improved steadily over the years!

This applies to any profession, if you are self-employed!
However, if one is fresh out of college, I would not advise to jump into self-employment... one needs to gradually build up a clientele by producing quality work with efficiency and honesty!

all the best
sandhya