Thread poster: italia

italia  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 04:23
Italian to German
+ ...
Jun 3, 2004

Dear all,
My husband is in Argentina at the moment, where his mobile does not work at all. Given that he'll be off to Cile on Sunday, I was wondering if any of you knew about International Roaming in Cile.
He uses a German mobile number.
Will he be reachable in Cile???
I don't want to get back to the provider, as I'm already mad about the fact that before signing the contract we were assured that he would be reachable everywhere in South America & Latin America!!!
TIA for any useful hints especially the Cilean colleagues!!!

[Edited at 2004-06-03 17:23]

Direct link Reply with quote

Michele Johnson  Identity Verified
Germany
German to English
+ ...
Tri-band phone, SIM cleared for international roaming? Jun 3, 2004

I have some experience with German mobiles abroad. What kind of phone does your husband have? I did a little research and it appears that S. America uses the frequencies 850 and 1900 (in contrast to Europe: 900 and 1800). Does he have a tri-/quad-band cell phone? If not, I suspect that may be the reason he is having problems (although I have no personal experience in South America). See e.g. http://www.teltarif.de/i/reise-gsm.html (link in German).

Another possibility, perhaps less likely though, is that the cell phone is tri-band (i.e. would work in principal in S. America) but the SIM card has not been cleared for international roaming. This might be the case if he has a pre-paid card instead of a "normal" contract. In that case he would need to contact the provider to clear it for international roaming, or purchase a pre-paid SIM card there, with its own phone number, and forward calls from his original number to it.

Can you provide more info on the phone/German provider?

italia  Identity Verified
Germany
Italian to German
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
he uses a quad-band phone Jun 3, 2004

Michele Johnson wrote: