Off topic: What motivated you to study your current working language(s)?
Thread poster: RafaLee
RafaLee
RafaLee
Australia
Local time: 19:45
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jul 19, 2004

Dear all,

What motivated you to learn your current working language(s) at the first place?

I started learning Spanish because I was crazy about Ricky Martin's song and I wanted to be able to understand and sing his songs.

I am currently teaching myself Serbo-Croatian, Greek and Turkish because I am into Balkan pop.

Rafa

Gerard de Noord
Gerard de Noord  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 11:45
Member (2003)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Piet Bakker Jul 19, 2004

It was my French teacher Piet Bakker. I decided to study French during the long pause that followed after he had finished declaiming Recuillement.

Regards,
Gerard

Receuillement

Sois sage, ô ma Douleur, et tiens-toi plus tranquille.
Tu réclamais le Soir; il descend; le voici :
Une atmosphère obscure enveloppe la ville,
Aux uns portant la paix, aux autres le souci.

Pendant que des mortels la multitude vile,
... See more
It was my French teacher Piet Bakker. I decided to study French during the long pause that followed after he had finished declaiming Recuillement.

Regards,
Gerard

Receuillement

Sois sage, ô ma Douleur, et tiens-toi plus tranquille.
Tu réclamais le Soir; il descend; le voici :
Une atmosphère obscure enveloppe la ville,
Aux uns portant la paix, aux autres le souci.

Pendant que des mortels la multitude vile,
Sous le fouet du Plaisir, ce bourreau sans merci,
Va cueillir des remords dans la fête servile,
Ma Douleur, donne-moi la main; viens par ici,

Loin d'eux. Vois se pencher les défuntes Années,
Sur les blacons du ciel, en robes surrannées;
Surgir du fond des eaux le Regret souriant;

Le Soleil moribond s'endormir sous une arche,
Et, comme un long linceul traînant à l'Orient,
Entends, ma chère, entends la douce Nuit qui marche.

Charles Baudelaire
Collapse

Harry Bornemann
Harry Bornemann  Identity Verified
Mexico