Off topic: Degrees for sale!
Thread poster: Francesca moletta

Francesca moletta
Local time: 16:16
English to Italian
+ ...
Sep 16, 2004

Dear colleagues,

this morning I got an advertising email from such Helen Hollis who literally sells degrees, MA, PHD etc (no exams, no tests, she writes).

That's unbelievable!

Is that legal?
Did anybody receive the same kind of email?
Or was it just a virus? I guess so, because the subject was "RE"...

Be aware: one day we'll got an email saying:

or better

Direct link Reply with quote
German to Russian
+ ...
spam Sep 16, 2004

just another spam. relax. delete it. forget it.

Williamson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 15:16
Flemish to English
+ ...
Scam Sep 16, 2004

There is degree selling "business" from people, who pretend to be associated with accredited universities.
It is a fraud. If anybody is so stupid to buy a degree, this could backfire.
Hé, I have an MBA-degree. Okay, now let's talk about the ROI of your MBA, Anova analysis, different depreciation methods, product positioning, the marketing mix, operations research, the Laffer curve, the prisoner paradigm, Activity Based Costing, Capital budgetting etc...
It do not have an MBA, but these are a few examples of what you will learn when you attend a management program.

[Edited at 2004-09-16 17:56]

Klaus Herrmann  Identity Verified
Member (2002)
English to German
+ ...
You've won a Ph D Sep 16, 2004

The best degree offer I received (so far) was a combination of lottery "Congratulation. You've won 3424012321002340082 Dollar" and degree selling "Get your Ph D now" emails. So, don't buy a title, wait until you've won one.

Alaa Zeineldine  Identity Verified
Member (2002)
English to Arabic
+ ...
A matter of perspective Sep 16, 2004

Honorary degrees have been around for decades

[Edited at 2004-09-16 18:49]

Ashar  Identity Verified
Local time: 19:16
Member (2006)
English to Urdu
+ ...
Degrees selling; not new Sep 16, 2004