adanm
adanm  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 21:16
English to Spanish
+ ...
Oct 30, 2014

Hello everyone,

I am a new translator and I am having difficulty navigating this new career without being overwhelmed. If anyone is interested in taking me under their wing, I would be eternally grateful. My language pair is EN>SP. Thank you so much!

P.S. I did try to contact a couple of people in the mentoring program but I did not get any responses.

-Ada

Triston Goodwin
Triston Goodwin  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 19:16
Spanish to English
+ ...
Hi Oct 30, 2014

I don't pretend to be an expert, but I'd be happy to help.

adanm
adanm  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 21:16
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Gracias! Oct 30, 2014

Le envie un email!

writeaway
writeaway  Identity Verified
French to English
+ ...
Only people with the Proz P are allowed to mentor Oct 30, 2014

According to the powers that be, none of the rest of us are considered good enough. At least that's the message I receive if I click on a request for a mentor: You are not eligible to respond to a mentoring offer.
Good luck. I'm sure you'll find someone in your pair who will help you get started.

Josephine Cassar
Josephine Cassar  Identity Verified
Malta
Local time: 03:16
Member (2012)
English to Maltese
+ ...
Those with P are too busy to mentor Oct 30, 2014

I hope you have more luck than I had. So that is the reason, Writeaway, and only those that have the P are allowed to mentor and those are too busy-I don't blame them-to mentor. About time this is changed, at least they could change it to something like 'those that have xxxx KudoZ points.

[Edited at 2014-10-31 07:52 GMT]

ATIL KAYHAN
ATIL KAYHAN  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 04:16
Member (2007)
Turkish to English
+ ...
Ask Specific Questions Oct 31, 2014