Mobile menu

Off topic: Internet in Kosovo, moving to Pristina for some time!
Thread poster: GaelSB
GaelSB
English to Spanish
+ ...
Apr 8, 2005

Hi everybody! Due to unexpected circumstances, I will be spending a few months in Pristina, Kosovo. I must admit I know very little about the place (only what you get to read on the papers,i.e., mounting tension, UN mission,inter-ethnic conflicts...). Are there any colleagues living there or familiar with the situation? More particularly, do you know anything about internet providers? Any tips? And in general, what about daily life in Pristina?
Thanks to all in advance!

[Edited at 2005-04-08 14:09]

Direct link Reply with quote

Silke Blumbach  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 20:01
English to German
+ ...
Kosova Apr 8, 2005

Dear Gael,

I lived for one year (2003) in Prizren, Kosova (now in Saranda, Albania), where I worked part-time as an internet-based freelance translator. It is possible to get a dial-up connection from post/telekom; user name and password are both ptk; ask at the post in Prishtina; it is a high tower in the main road when you come from Prizren or from the bus station, on the left shortly after entering the town.
However, this is a quite weak connection. I had a satellite connection from IPKONET. It cost 129 euro a month and about 400 euro the installation, which seemed expensive for me at that time, compared to Western European flatrates (I am a native German) - but it is much cheaper than in the province of Albania.