Mobile menu

Off topic: Do your eyes burn?
Thread poster: Ziad Marzouka

Ziad Marzouka  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:44
English to Arabic
+ ...
Jun 23, 2005

I was just wondering since our job as translators requires many hours spent infront of the computer each day, do you guys get any kind of eye burn? or do they turn red sometimes? It happens to my quite everyday that I get to the point where I cant stand the burn and just have to close my eyes and get some rest away from the computer or the tv. Some people even recommended that I should go and see a doctor. Are there any means of protection? glasses? special type of screens or filters? Thanks

Direct link Reply with quote

justin C
United States
Local time: 19:44
Anti Glare Jun 23, 2005

Hi Ziad!

As a programmer I have also had similar problems. I used to own an anti glare screen similar to,%20Supplies%20&%20Data%20Storage&s=12&sn=Computer&ss=71&ssn=Monitor%20Filters&g=18584&gn=Contour%20Deluxe%20Anti-Glare%20Screen&referer=froogle_fd (you can find them cheaper with a bit of digging around). They overall reduce the stress on your eyes. Also flat screen monitors are much less harsh on the eyes (in my opinion, I dont have scientific evidence proving that). I would recommend maybe trying those, and maybe getting some Visine Tears (lubcricating eye drops).

Hope this helps!

Regards, Justin

Bruce Popp  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 19:44
French to English
glasses Jun 23, 2005

You may need reading/computer glasses... getting your eyes examined by an opthamologiest would be a good step.

On my computer glasses I got UV and anti-glare coatings and I think these make a big difference; I recommend them.

Checking for glare from the monitor from windows and lights is important. Is the screen a good size and the image crisp?

Good luck,

ntext  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 18:44
Partial member
German to English
+ ...
Eye strain Jun 23, 2005

You may want to try