Silvia Ferrero  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:48
English to Spanish
+ ...
Mar 11, 2003

I have found the following advert on a translator\'s website:

Type: Project manager, English => Spanish

Title: English to Spanish to English.

Description: If you enjoy translating and meeting new people?

If you want to use your language skills?

If you want to work for yourself?

If you want a full time or part time income?

Then we want to hear from you:

Our company trades in over 50 countries and has multi-million currency turnover. Full training available. We are particularly interested in Spanish ex-pats or English speaking Spanish citizens. Serious enquiries only please.

Call UK 01442 241540 or abroad 00441442 241540 or visit:

Posted by

Name Mike Grant

Company Not a company

Location HP3 8YJ Hemel Hempstead

United Kingdom

Web site

I sounded good and, since I am a Spanish translator, I contacted them. They sent me a CD-ROM with information about the company and they told me they woul ring me in a couple of days. Well, when I watched the CD-ROM, it turned out that it was from a company called Herbal Life, and it was full of people telling you how wonderful it is to work from home and how much money you could make working for them, but nothing about translation. At the end of the CD, they give you three options, in all of them you have to give some money to the company (either for training sessions or to but their products).

The manager rang me some days later to see if I wanted to work for them. I told him that I was only looking for translation work and asked if the company offered that. He told me that they did not offer translation at all, to which I answered that I might have misunderstood the advert (though if you read it I think it is very clear!).

So that was it. He was very interested in me passing the CD to other people, but obviously I have not done it. I only hope that if any of you sees this advert, you won\'t waste your time as I did.