German spell check on UK computer
Thread poster: erikaschmidt
erikaschmidt
Sweden
Local time: 13:58
English to German
Aug 18, 2008

Hi all,
As you can guess I'm new to translating and I'm trying to set myself up.
I'm German but I live in the UK and have an 'English' computer with Microsoft Word XP.
I believe that Word XP has got German Office Proofing Tools (spell check and dictionary). I was able to select German language through my control panel (in addition to English). However, the German spell check still doesn't work. Is this because I need to enable a German dictionary? How would I do this? Is there also a German Thesaurus? I'm not too experienced with computers. Can anybody help?

Thank you so much for your help and time.

Kerstin

Direct link Reply with quote

Wolfgang Jörissen  Identity Verified
Belize
Dutch to German
+ ...
Make sure it's installed Aug 18, 2008

Correct, Word has this option, even with grammar check, but it is probably not installed on your machine. Go to Control panel, select Add or remove software, change or remove programs, then pick Microsoft Office from the list and click through the (advanced) options. You will need the installation disc. I do not have an English MS Office version here, so I cannot really help you with the details. I remember it was kind of tricky but with a little searching, you will get there.

And by the way: welcome to our profession!

Wolfgang

[Edited at 2008-08-18 21:17]

xxxOlaf
Local time: 14:58
English to German
You'll need to buy the MS Proofing tools/language packs Aug 18, 2008

The English versions of MS Office do not support German out of the box. Unfortunately, changing the locale to German or marking text as German in Office doesn't enable German spell checking.
Depending on your office version, you'll either need to buy the MS Proofing tools or the German MS Office language pack. For more information visit the following page:

Language Packs for the 2007 Microsoft Office FAQ