How to track changes in Powerpoint?
Thread poster: Jana Teteris

Jana Teteris  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:24
Latvian to English
+ ...
Oct 19, 2004

Is it possible to track changes in a Powerpoint document? I'm using MS office XP and there doesn't appear to be a function (as there is in MS Word). Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance.

Direct link Reply with quote

Jörgen Slet  Identity Verified
Estonia
Local time: 15:24
English to Estonian
+ ...
Diff Doc Pro might be an answer Oct 19, 2004

Diff Doc Pro should be able to compare two Powerpoint files and indicate any changes. I have no personal experience, and at $399, it is far from free.

http://www.softinterface.com/MD/Diff-Doc-Standard_vs_Pro.htm

Victor Potapov
Russian Federation
Local time: 16:24
English to Russian
+ ...
just might be possible... Oct 19, 2004

Jana Teteris wrote:

Is it possible to track changes in a Powerpoint document? I'm using MS office XP and there doesn't appear to be a function (as there is in MS Word). Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance.

Jana,

please have a look at the Tools menu item, sub-item "Comparing and Merging Presentations" (this may vary as it is a back translation from Russian, I do not have an English-language MS Office version).

This may be useful (however, I would suggest making a copy of the file to use with this procedure as it is rather messy).

Hope this helps!

Victor.

Jana Teteris  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:24
Latvian to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
thanks! Oct 19, 2004

As this was pretty urgent, I decided I didn't have time to try and work out how to use the 'compare documents' feature - but thanks for the suggestion.

In the end I used the 'insert comment' option, but I do wonder why Microsoft haven't come up with a straightforward 'track changes' feature.

aviloria  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 14:24
English to Spanish
+ ...
Office 2003 Oct 19, 2004