Mobile menu

Office 2003 upgrade
Thread poster: Tansy

Tansy  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:53
Member (2008)
German to English
Jan 6, 2005

I recently bought a new computer which included a test version of Office 2003. I now want to buy a full version, but am a bit confused about the options available. I only need Word, Excel and Powerpoint and do not need any of the further applications. I see that there is a cheaper student/teacher version available with these applications but 1) Do I need to prove that I'm a student/teacher to buy this (I'm not) and 2) As far as I can make out I'd have to completely remove the current Office test version to install this, which would be a bit of a nuisance (and I assume would entail reinstalling Trados)

If I buy the standard edition instead of the student edition - where I think I would only have to enter a product key and not re-install anything - I can't seem to find if I would be entitled to an upgrade discount (I am updating from Office 97).

Can anyone advise on this?

Direct link Reply with quote

gianfranco  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 17:53
Member (2001)
English to Italian
+ ...
Check the compatibility between Office and Trados Jan 6, 2005

Dear Tonyt,

I know for sure that to purchase Microsoft products as a teacher/student you must produce evidence of your teacher/student status, a letter from your school or something similar.

I cannot say if you need to remove/uninstall the current Office test version or intall the new version over it but, in any case, reinstalling Trados is a non issue.
It takes 2 minutes and usually doesn't cause any trouble.

The real issue is a possible incompatibility between the Trados version that you intend to use and the Office version that you intend to install. Contacting Trados in advance, or visit their website, to check the compatibility between the two applications.

Gianfranco

RWSTranslation
Germany
Member (2007)
German to English
+ ...
Student version Jan 6, 2005

Hello,