Spellchecker for Office Suite XP
Thread poster: mamacat
mamacat
mamacat
Local time: 02:08
Italian to English
May 16, 2005

MS Word 2000 had a spellchecker for Italian, among others. Now that I am using Office XP it seems to come only with English French and Spanish spellcheckers. Am I missing something?

Lindsay Sabadosa (X)
Lindsay Sabadosa (X)  Identity Verified
United States
Italian to English
+ ...
Sounds right... May 16, 2005

mamacat wrote:

MS Word 2000 had a spellchecker for Italian, among others. Now that I am using Office XP it seems to come only with English French and Spanish spellcheckers. Am I missing something?

I'm not an expert but I'm pretty sure that those are the standard languages with which it comes. I bought a new computer recently and that is what I go with it. I had to buy special software from Microsoft (a proofing tool) to get other languages. Good luck!

[Edited at 2005-05-16 08:37]

Jerzy Czopik
Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 08:08
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
We have had this allready May 16, 2005

Office XP comes with the language it is localised in plus English plus (maybe) one additional language.
I would say with Office 2000 it was the same.
So if you buy ie spanish Office, you get thet spellchecker for Spanish and English. When you need additional languages, you should purchase the Microsoft Proofing Tool Kit (be sure to buy the proper version for your Office package, as they are NOT cross-compatible).

Regards
Jerzy

PS
As this is about
... See more
Office XP comes with the language it is localised in plus English plus (maybe) one additional language.
I would say with Office 2000 it was the same.
So if you buy ie spanish Office, you get thet spellchecker for Spanish and English. When you need additional languages, you should purchase the Microsoft Proofing Tool Kit (be sure to buy the proper version for your Office package, as they are NOT cross-compatible).

Regards
Jerzy

PS