Unwanted temporary files, MSWord
Thread poster: Henry Hinds

Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:46
English to Spanish
+ ...
Nov 11, 2006

I'm working on a file and all of a sudden the filename has disappeared and in its place is a filename like this:

Then I have to do a "Save as..." and put in the original filename again.

If I were to fail to notice that, I could finish a job then unknowingly send a client a file that was only partially complete; that is, only up to the point that the filename changed.

This just started very recently on a computer and with an MSWord I have been using for several years.

Does anyone know why this has suddenly started happening? And most important, how can I stop it from happening?

Direct link Reply with quote
Local time: 04:46
That's a standard temp file Nov 12, 2006

Word creates one or more of these for every file it opens; when you close the file, it's supposed to be erased (but sometimes you have to actually Quit). The question is what gave you the indication that this somehow became the new file name? I ask because let's say you have a folder with one file in it. You open that doc, and while it's open, you take a look in that folder. While you *see* that temp file there, that does not necessarily mean that's a new name that's a new name assigned to the document.

[Edited at 2006-11-12 01:40]

Xiangdong Zhuo
Local time: 16:46
English to Chinese
I also encountered this problem Nov 12, 2006

Yes, although very occasionally, I have ever encountered this problem. What I can do is just "save as...".
Fortunately, This kind of problem disappeared for a long time.

Local time: 12:46
English to Russian
Possibilities Nov 12, 2006

Possible actions (you can select the most appropriate action's order).

1. Check virus infection using variuous soft (at least 2-3).