Mobile menu

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: How often do you back up your work and TMs?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
Local time: 04:29
SITE STAFF
Jun 27, 2007

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "How often do you back up your work and TMs?".

This poll was originally submitted by Natalia Zudaire

View the poll here

A forum topic will appear each time a new poll is run. For more information, see: http://proz.com/topic/33629

Direct link Reply with quote

Nina Khmielnitzky  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 07:29
Member (2004)
English to French
I don't even know what it is Jun 27, 2007

much less how to do one

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 12:29
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
My sub-question is: How do you do it? Jun 27, 2007

Backups don't seem very 'standard' for PC's - when I was a programmer 30-odd years ago, all sorts of standard housekeeping tools were available and we backed up all changed files daily.

PC housekeeping packages seem a bit thin on the ground nowadays. I know many people who never back up anything, including one small IT company who lost everything (customer payment records included) when their PC crashed.

I have a CD burner that came with software to create backups and I simply copy all my data (changed or not) every month. I'm sure it's not the best way and I get a bit fidgety towards the end of the month.

What do others do (apart from those that answered "never")?

Orla Ryan  Identity Verified
Ireland
What I do Jun 27, 2007

Burn a cd every two months

Tina Colquhoun  Identity Verified
Danish to English
+ ...
Just a copy - drag and drop Jun 27, 2007

Why is it that people think backing up is some kind of complicated 'procedure'? Don't you copy your work/accounts/CVs/whatever onto a disk/drive/different computer on a regular basis? If not, what on earth are you going to do if your PC/laptop crashes?