Mobile menu

CV/ Resume advice
Thread poster: Alison Woods
Alison Woods

Local time: 14:05
Spanish to English
Aug 7, 2008

I am a newcomer to the world of freelance translation and have some questions about how to show experience on a CV or Resume. I have limited volunteer experience and have never been paid for my work. All the work I have done so far has been related to human rights or international aid. How should I show my experience? Is it a good idea to name the organizations I've translated for (I don't believe any of them are very well known)? Should I write a short description of the types I've done before? Any advice would be very appreciated. Thank you.

Direct link Reply with quote

sdavidson
French to English
+ ...
CV Aug 7, 2008

I would definitly write in the organizations you've translated for, even if they're not known (or paying), maybe they could supply a reference or two?
I've read 'how to succeed as a freelance translator' by Corinne McKay and it was very insightful on many subjects as well as very interesting to read....

Tina Vonhof  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 12:05
Member (2006)
Dutch to English
+ ...
Your resumé looks good Aug 8, 2008

Hi Allison, your profile and resumé look pretty good to me. You seem to have made the most of the education and experience you have. I do think it is a good idea to name the organizations you have worked for.

I did notice some discrepancies between your profile and resumé. For example, you say in your profile "I have done interpretation and translation work for Fortune 500 companies like Walt Disney World and T.Rowe Price" but that does not appear on your resumé.

Also, since most people will be looking at your resumé on screen rather than in print, I would try to eliminate all the tabs - they make it look crowded. Instead you could insert a table with 2 columns and make the gridlines invisible.

Good luck!

Gina Ferlisi
Local time: 20:05
Member (2008)
Italian to English
+ ...