MA in Translation
Thread poster: Cathy Eddleston

Cathy Eddleston  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:30
Spanish to English
Mar 4, 2009

Hi all

I was hoping you may be able to help me a little. I am really interested in a career in tanslation. I am currently studying the CIoL prep course online through IH Barcelona. I have a BA Spanish.

I was planning to take the DipTrans through IOL but have read that this is only recognised within the UK. I have no intentions off living in the UK so am unsure if this exam will help me.

I have also read that to become a successful translator you need to have a 'speciality' like medical or technical. Is this right and if so how do you go about getting a speciallity?

One last question, I want to do an MA in Translation. Do you think this is neccesary to become a translator? Do you know any Spanish Universities where I could study this Spanish - English?

Thanks in advance.

Cathy

Direct link Reply with quote

Spencer Allman
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:30
Finnish to English
MA Mar 4, 2009

MA translation studies courses are really useful but i wouldn't bother until you have some experience of translating

best

s

Parrot  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 14:30
Member (2002)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Some answers Mar 4, 2009

cat_edds wrote:

I was planning to take the DipTrans through IOL but have read that this is only recognised within the UK. I have no intentions off living in the UK so am unsure if this exam will help me.

It will help as much as passing the ATA, ITI or NAATI exams for certification. If English is your mother language or one of your source languages, it will be understandable anywhere around the world if you opt for CIoL or one of these.

I have also read that to become a successful translator you need to have a 'speciality' like medical or technical. Is this right and if so how do you go about getting a speciallity?