https://www.proz.com/forum/professional_development/32703-searching_for_pro_bono_translators_working_in_human_trafficking_for_doctoral_research.html

Searching for pro bono translators working in human trafficking for doctoral research
Thread poster: Greta Holmer
Greta Holmer
Greta Holmer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:00
Dutch to English
+ ...
May 25, 2005

I am a professional translator and also a doctoral student at the universitat rovira i Virgili in Tarragona, Spain on the translation and intercultural studies program.

Because of my interest in this subject I have decided to research the role of translators and interpreters in combatting human trafficking.
I am still in the early stages of my research but have thought of a number of elements to concentrate on.
Firstly I thought a comparative study may be useful on coun
... See more
I am a professional translator and also a doctoral student at the universitat rovira i Virgili in Tarragona, Spain on the translation and intercultural studies program.

Because of my interest in this subject I have decided to research the role of translators and interpreters in combatting human trafficking.
I am still in the early stages of my research but have thought of a number of elements to concentrate on.
Firstly I thought a comparative study may be useful on countries in which victims are provided with translators and interpreters as opposed to countries where this is not the case and whether it makes a difference to the way in which cases are handled. Another element I thought may be useful is to study the way in which translators are able to facilitate communication between administrations, governments, etc. for example between a source country from which people are trafficked and a target country to which they are trafficked.