Suzie Withers  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:17
Member (2006)
French to English
+ ...
May 5, 2006

Hi, I'm a newbie here

I am hoping that translation will be my new vocation, after working as a software engineer for 8 years.

I took the DipTrans (all 3 papers) in January in FR>EN and have just received my results. I passed papers 1 and 2 but failed paper 3 (I took the Social Science option).

I am extremely disappointed as I had hoped to get the diploma and start trying to get translation work with a view to building up experience and becoming a freelance
... See more
Hi, I'm a newbie here

I am hoping that translation will be my new vocation, after working as a software engineer for 8 years.

I took the DipTrans (all 3 papers) in January in FR>EN and have just received my results. I passed papers 1 and 2 but failed paper 3 (I took the Social Science option).

I am extremely disappointed as I had hoped to get the diploma and start trying to get translation work with a view to building up experience and becoming a freelancer over time. Waiting another year to retake is a major setback.

My question is, is it worth my starting to put out feelers anyway, despite the fact that I don' t have the full diploma (yet)? I know that many translators do not have diplomas but I guess what they do have is experience and a reputation, which I don't have.

Has anyone else failed a paper who would be willing to share their experience?

I'm just not sure how to proceed from here, so the thoughts of those who are in the know would be much appreciated.
Collapse

Astrid Elke Witte
Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 23:17
Member (2002)
German to English
+ ...
Suggest you start to gather experience May 5, 2006

Hi Suze,

First of all, congratulations on already passing two papers! It is an exam which is set at a very high academic level.