Mobile menu

Learning a language well if you don't live in the country where it is spoken for some time
Thread poster: Sonja Allen

Sonja Allen  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 15:50
Member (2005)
English to German
+ ...
Jun 2, 2006

I have just read an article somewhere about an US American who learned Welsh via the internet while living in the US. He also wrote a blog in Welsh every day and learned the whole language so well that he was accepted by Cardiff University.
Well, when I look at me, I have been learning Spanish for more than 20 years at more or less irregular intervals and I can read Spanish texts without problems, but when it comes to speaking the language or listening to Spaniards speaking, I feel like I am back in my first year of learning the language. So my question is, can you really learn a language fluently (meaning not just aquiring a good passive knowledge but also being able to use it actively without major difficulties) if you don't have the opportunity to spend any reasonable period of time in the country where the language is spoken. So is it all just a matter of how much effort and time you put into learning the language or is a longer stay in that foreign country simply indispensable? What do you think?

Direct link Reply with quote

Piotr Wargan  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 16:50
English to Polish
+ ...
Yes, you can :-) Jun 2, 2006

Probably not so easy when not living in 'the' country, and not so much fun it is, but on the other hand not so difficult, provided that you have time, motivation, want to take the effort...

I would like to draw your attention to Kato Lomb and her methods of learning languages (e.g. here: http://www.answers.com/topic/kat-lomb

or just write Kato Lomb in Google).

Sometimes it is not easy but don't give up an idea of studying a foreign language in your own country!

I wish you successful and rewarding learning!

Piotr

Rebecca Hendry  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2005)