Certified Translator?
Thread poster: transfromvic
transfromvic
transfromvic
Local time: 09:32
Russian to English
+ ...
Jul 13, 2006

I am asked by a client if I am a certified translator. The truth is that I have a Master's Degree in English Philology, besides courses of English. Does that mean that I am a certified translator, i.e. that my translations are certified? If not, how can I become certified?
Thanks for your advice.

Parrot
Parrot  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 08:32
Spanish to English
+ ...
What are the rules in your country for becoming certified? Jul 13, 2006

Each country has rules regarding requirements to become a certified translator. Some hold competitive examinations, others approve certain degrees, and still others have a mixture of both systems.

Be that as it may, certified translators are included in a kind of official roster, which may include their seals, numbers, and will certainly include their names and recognised signatures. Philology and language courses are not enough.

Mutarjim97
Mutarjim97
United States
Local time: 02:32
French to Arabic
+ ...
Depends on where you and/or your client is Jul 13, 2006

Hello Victoria,
In the US there is no such thing as a certified translator technically spealing: with the exception of certain court testing programs (mainly a one sitting test) and acamdemic studies in several universities, you do not officially get a certificate that says you are a certified translator. There is the ATA accreditation test which many translators think it is unncecessary and local state and federal registry testing programs. In some African, Asian and European countries,
... See more
Hello Victoria,