Mobile menu

WLS certificate in translation
Thread poster: MDSurcin
MDSurcin
Local time: 02:30
English to French
Apr 13, 2007

I know that this was mentioned before, but I'm currently studying for the WLS certificate (Dublin-based agency), and I'd like to know how it "translates" into official credentials. Would it be the equivalent of a university degree (I have a BA degree)? Agencies tend to ask for so many credentials, I'd like to find a way to make the most of the WLS certificate.
Thanks for your feedback!

Direct link Reply with quote

italia  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 03:30
Italian to German
+ ...
as far as I know Apr 14, 2007

Hi! As far as I know it is simply a translation certificate without any legal validity.
I think their certificate course is meant to be a preparatory course for the DIP TRANS issued by the Chartered IOL, just as the one you can take e.g. at the CITY UNIVERSITY of London.

Good luck with your studies!
Best

[Edited at 2007-04-14 11:35]

Trans-Marie
English to German
+ ...
Hi MDSurcin Apr 14, 2007

Hi MDSurcin

You should simply leave it as it is in my view. A certificate is a certificate and no degree equivalent. You could either write I hold the WSL certificate in translation or I hold the certificate in translation by the WSL. Surely there are different types of certificates available in different countries, but the term ‘certificate’ is sufficiently understood and not too ambiguous.

A degree is normally awarded by universities or colleges after you followed an approved programme of several years’ full time study and passed their assessments and exams etc., so unless both your course of study and the qualification obtained are very much similar to this, I would avoid the term ‘degree equivalent’.

Once you have finished your course and hold your certificate you will be in a better position for negotiations and I think your clients will appreciate your qualification especially as you already hold a BA. Good luck!