living expenses during university study
Thread poster: Crystal Samples

Crystal Samples  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 20:38
French to English
+ ...
May 22, 2007

I'm not sure if this topic should be here or in the "Money Matters" forum, but I'll let the Moderators decide.

I'm planning on getting an MA in translation from a school in France. However, I'm trying to figure out the best way to pay for my living expenses over the 2 or 3 years when I probably won't be working. Right now, I have a full time job in the U.S. that pays a pretty good salary. I was thinking I could either save enough money to live off of while I'm studying, or I could get a bank loan for the 20 or 30 thousand dollars/euros I'll need over the 2 to 3 year period.

If any of you have travelled to the country of your B or C language for your BA , MA, or PhD, I was hoping that you could give me some advice on how to go about procurring funds to live on during my studies: savings, loans, grants, scholarships, or what?

Thanks in advance!

Sindee21

Direct link Reply with quote

Parrot  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 03:38
Member (2002)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Some ideas May 22, 2007

http://www.diplomatie.gouv.fr/en/france_159/studying-in-france_2192/how-can-the-project-be-funded_4965/how-can-you-receive-scholarship-from-the-french-government_1563.html

http://www.frenchculture.org/the_education.cfm

http://www.studyabroadfunding.org/France/

However, this kind of thing requires long-range planning to make requirements meet, so study the possibilities well!

Hope it helps.

Crystal Samples  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 20:38
French to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks May 23, 2007

Thanks for the links...they should helpful.

I'd also like to read about some personal experiences with this sort of situation - studying in Europe and not being able to work and support yourself during your studies.

Thanks again,

Sindee21

Parrot  Identity Verified
Spain