Platinium membership: what does it 'mean'?
Thread poster: Karina Vermeylen
Karina Vermeylen
Karina Vermeylen
Local time: 13:09
English to French
+ ...
Jan 15, 2004

I am a coming up freelance translator and the only thing I want to know is the meaning of platinium membership ? Don't answer me with the following : you pay and you get the platinium membership plus all the advantages. I know ... that is just what I mean. Paying doesn't prove anything.It doesn't prove your ability, capacity and knowledge of the language.

Martine Etienne
Martine Etienne  Identity Verified
Belgium
Local time: 19:09
English to French
+ ...
a membership is a membership Jan 15, 2004

A membership is nothing more and nothing less than another membership. Have you never paid for being member of a tennis club, a former students association??? It gives you some priviledges as Blue Board but it does not give your customers without working.

I have got most of my customers on Proz. A first bid accepted by an agency or another translator, an agreement on a price satisfactory on both sides and then a long term partnership because the work was good enough.

It
... See more
A membership is nothing more and nothing less than another membership. Have you never paid for being member of a tennis club, a former students association??? It gives you some priviledges as Blue Board but it does not give your customers without working.

I have got most of my customers on Proz. A first bid accepted by an agency or another translator, an agreement on a price satisfactory on both sides and then a long term partnership because the work was good enough.

It gives you friends all over the world : friends you will perhaps never see but ready to spend an hour or two, sometimes at night to search a word you don't know, only to help you.

It is also an association of linguists : people who like their jobs, who like searching hours and hours to find the correct expression.