Carmen Álvarez  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 13:18
Member (2014)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Apr 13, 2005

Dear Translators,

if you take a look at my profile, you will see that I am not a professional translator but a scientist. However I love translating scientific texts into Spanish and therefore I decided to join Proz, just for learning from the professionals and helping other non-professionals.
Today I got for the first time an email requesting my help with a maths text. The sender only named 15 mathematical expressions and suggested his own translations, nearly all of them bei
... See more
Dear Translators,

if you take a look at my profile, you will see that I am not a professional translator but a scientist. However I love translating scientific texts into Spanish and therefore I decided to join Proz, just for learning from the professionals and helping other non-professionals.
Today I got for the first time an email requesting my help with a maths text. The sender only named 15 mathematical expressions and suggested his own translations, nearly all of them being wrong, so I assume that he does not understand the text as a whole.
I find it ridiculous to be paid for just 15 expressions (specially because it would be an international transfer with change of currency), but on the other hand the sender seems to need real help with a larger text...
Sorry for my ignorance but I have no idea what to do... should I do it for free or should I ask to translate the whole text for a given price?

Thanks a lot in advance to everyone,

Carmen
Collapse

Schwabamädle
Schwabamädle
Canada
Local time: 07:18
English to German
+ ...
Too bad! Apr 13, 2005