what to do after quoting?
Thread poster: given2fly
given2fly
given2fly
Local time: 06:25
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Nov 17, 2006

hello, I am new at ProZ, with translations. I have a question, however, regarding the quotings procedure. Once I have made a quote on the job, and usually there are several, the outsourse will chose one, righ? So I have to wait untill I see if he has chosen mine or not, is that correct? Thank you very much.

alexia
alexia  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:25
English to French
+ ...
Wait and see... Nov 17, 2006

It is indeed the usual way. Once you've quoted the outsourcer will get back to you if he's interested.
However if you were asked to provide a test translation you can still ask for a feedback.
Regards

Luisa Ramos, CT
Luisa Ramos, CT  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:25
English to Spanish
Do not sit tight Nov 17, 2006

I am sure they do not have time to get back to anyone but the selected individual.and 99.9% of the time they don't. Do not sit waiting but continue searching for opportunities, here, doing direct email campaigns, etc. There are good articles about how to increase your client database.
Good luck!

given2fly
given2fly
English to Portuguese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
sure! Nov 17, 2006

Indeed I am not going to sit and wait. It's just that if they take long to reply and then you've posted other quotes, isn't ther the risk of overlaping jobs (and therefore not completeng it in due time)?

Thank you for your posts

Maciek Drobka
Maciek Drobka  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 07:25
Member (2006)
English to Polish
+ ...
Blessed risk! Nov 17, 2006

Hi,

Of course, you run a potential risk of not being able to complete all the overlapping jobs on time by quoting on all job postings you think you qualify for. But I dare say when the risk comes true, you'll find a way to deal with it: sleeping less, drinking more coffee, buying another keyboard to type with your toes, etc.