Thread poster: Libero_Lang_Lab

Libero_Lang_Lab  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:16
Member (2006)
Russian to English
+ ...
Jul 29, 2002

At the suggestion of Proz moderator, Marta, I\'d like to (re-?)open the subject of whether members of the community should be able to promote themselves as translators OUT OF their native tongue for any given pairing.

I have recently joined Proz and over the last month have been hugely impressed by many aspects of the site. In terms of engendering a sense of community, providing a self-help and mutual help resource, and an interface between translators and clients, the site is clearly a wonderful thing... But now my gripe

My language pairing is Russian-English. I am a (British) English native speaker, hence I offer translation services OUT OF Russian and INTO English. I have been doing this on and off for 10 years, have a diploma from the IOL etc. etc. I don\'t claim to be the best at what I do, but I am comfortable that I can back up the professional claims that I make for myself.