Problem viewing Chinese characters on Proz
Thread poster: Jennifer Devlin
Jennifer Devlin
Jennifer Devlin
Chinese to English
Jun 24, 2004

Hi All

I am new to Proz and still finding my way around, so please forgive me if this has been asked and answered previously.

I cannot view the Chinese characters on this site, for example in Kudoz, they just appear as random symbols. I have no problem viewing other sites in Chinese, and have Windows XP with Chinese enabled. Is there some simple box I need to tick somewhere? The only correctly appearing characters I have seen on the site were in Kevin Yang's post her
... See more
Hi All

I am new to Proz and still finding my way around, so please forgive me if this has been asked and answered previously.

I cannot view the Chinese characters on this site, for example in Kudoz, they just appear as random symbols. I have no problem viewing other sites in Chinese, and have Windows XP with Chinese enabled. Is there some simple box I need to tick somewhere? The only correctly appearing characters I have seen on the site were in Kevin Yang's post here http://www.proz.com/post/143332#143332 What is different?

Please help!
Collapse

Natalie
Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 14:48
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...

SITE LOCALIZER
Moved the topic Jun 24, 2004

to ProZ.com Tech Support

gianfranco
gianfranco  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 10:48
Member (2001)
English to Italian
+ ...
Consult the FAQ pages Jun 24, 2004

Please, consult the following information available in the FAQ pages
http://www.proz.com/faq/localization#local_charsets
It could be sufficient to solve your problem.

Gianfranco
ProZ.com Team

chance (X)
chance (X)
French to Chinese
+ ...
Hi Jennifer, Jun 24, 2004

Most posts in Chinese forum are in Simplified Chinese (GB2312). Sometimes, they could be in Traditional Chinese (Big5), UTF-8 or Japanese (Shift-JIS) encoding.