Using trados with urdu
Thread poster: CosmicGlobal

CosmicGlobal  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:29
Member (2006)
Arabic to English
+ ...
Aug 19, 2002

Hi, can someone tell me if i can use trados with urdu? I have never used this before and am thinking seriously abt it and after reading all the positive responses for using trados, makes me wonder if i am missing something. But a client now wants english to urdu with trados and i was told that since it is compatible with microsoft , and urdu is not i maynot be able to use it at all. can someone enlighten me on this please, thanks in advance !

Direct link Reply with quote

Squi  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 08:59
English to Russian
+ ...
Urdu-supporting CAT Aug 19, 2002

Hullo!

Unfortunately, Trados does nor support Urdu:

Translator’s Workbench

Trados Corporation. Supported languages are Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Finnish, Greek,Hungarian, Italian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish.

http://www.foreignword.com/Technology/tm/tm.htm.

But the same site recommends a localisation tool:

Passolo

Software localization tool with integrated dialog and bitmap editor, fuzzy matching, glossaries and checking functions. Professional Edition with VBA compatible scripting engine and automation. Works with standard Windows resources, Delphi, Visual Basic, Java, Databases and others. Unicode version for Asian and Right-to-Left languages included. Optional interfaces for TRADOS Workbench and STAR Transit available

Can you use it, maybe?

Best regards

Squi

shfranke  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 23:59
English to Arabic
+ ...
Urdu and Trados Aug 19, 2002

Greetings.

Based on recent comments by a friend in Pakistan who works in Urdu, save your money and don\'t buy Trados, as that doesn\'t support Urdu properly.