Experience?
Thread poster: Maria Knorr
Maria Knorr
Maria Knorr
Local time: 13:50
English
+ ...
May 7, 2002

I am trying to break into the wonderful world of translating, and I would like some help. I have been doing professional interpreting for a while now, but I have no experience with translating. I am in the process of looking for agencies, clients, or just some kind of work which can get me started. I usually get a reply that when I get some experience they would love to hear from me again, but until then...

I was hoping that someone can point me in the direction where to
... See more
I am trying to break into the wonderful world of translating, and I would like some help. I have been doing professional interpreting for a while now, but I have no experience with translating. I am in the process of looking for agencies, clients, or just some kind of work which can get me started. I usually get a reply that when I get some experience they would love to hear from me again, but until then...

I was hoping that someone can point me in the direction where to actually get translating experience. I would love to work with someone from Proz as a proof-reader (I have experience in that), or any other capacity that people can offer.

Thanks.

Maria

P.S. I\'ve read that some people take other people\'s resumes for experience, but I am not that pathetic and don\'t want to lie.

Thanks again
Collapse

Alexander Medved
Alexander Medved
Ukraine
Local time: 20:50
English to Russian
+ ...
Festina lente (торопись не сп May 8, 2002

Gosh, there\'s no point of supplying you with any sort of advice as you definitely have a plan of your own in your head and what you need is a good start, e.g., that first work or a project where you would be able to demonstrate your skills. Am I right or right I am? Although there’s no point of waiting till the Kingdom comes. It’s time to act.