Mobile menu

How do I type in Russian on my American pc?
Thread poster: Deborah Hoffman
Deborah Hoffman  Identity Verified

Local time: 17:58
Russian to English
+ ...
Nov 7, 2002

I apolgize for the extremely primitive knowledge of computers that this question implies. I studied Russian for many years before going to law school (BIG mistake) and now mostly keep it up with tv, books, and one friend I have. I would like to begin translating, at least for myself, and possibly for work later on, but for now I would like to figure out how to type in Russian using MS Word. Do I have to buy a Russian version of Word and will it install on my computer? And can I get an overlay to place on my keyboard?

Thanks for any help, I really enjoy reading this forum and hope I can assist someone in return some day. Deborah

Direct link Reply with quote

Jack Doughty  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 21:58
Member (2000)
Russian to English
+ ...
See previous forum discussion Nov 7, 2002

This topic was discussed only the other day. Look at

http://www.proz.com/?sp=bb/viewtopic&post=38371#38371

and see if it helps you.

Montefiore  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:58
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...
Russian keyboard and fonts in MSWord Nov 7, 2002

Sorry, I don\'t know how to address you, sir. If you have the original CD-Rom from Microsoft with MSWord on it, you may want to load it into your computer, just in case. Go to settings and choose keyboard. Add Russian (cyrillic) to your list of keyboards. Also check the international settings. Play around with add/remove programs, if that doesn\'t work, however Microsoft contains all the international settings you will need.

Guillermo de la Puerta  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:58
German to Spanish
+ ...
Download cyrillic keyboard Nov 7, 2002

Hi, take a look at this web-site:

http://www.cyrillic.com