https://www.proz.com/forum/safe_computing/30468-virus_posing_as_a_translation_related_e_mail.html

Virus posing as a translation-related e-mail
Thread poster: Lindsay Sabadosa (X)
Lindsay Sabadosa (X)
Lindsay Sabadosa (X)  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 23:31
Italian to English
+ ...
Mar 15, 2005

Hi everyone,

I just wanted to pass along this warning. I got an e-mail from a generic (hotmail) address entitled "Your translation." I opened the body and it said "your text is below" where there was a winzip file whose name was LSabadosa.zip! (i.e. my name!). I virus scanned the whole thing and of course it was just one huge virus waiting to explode onto my computer. Can you believe this? Someone actually sent me this thing with me in mind, knowing full well what I do for a living
... See more
Hi everyone,

I just wanted to pass along this warning. I got an e-mail from a generic (hotmail) address entitled "Your translation." I opened the body and it said "your text is below" where there was a winzip file whose name was LSabadosa.zip! (i.e. my name!). I virus scanned the whole thing and of course it was just one huge virus waiting to explode onto my computer. Can you believe this? Someone actually sent me this thing with me in mind, knowing full well what I do for a living. Be careful out there. There are some people who have WAY too much time on their hands!

[Edited at 2005-03-15 19:32]
Collapse

Luca Tutino
Luca Tutino  Identity Verified
Italy
Member (2002)
English to Italian
+ ...
common behaviour Mar 15, 2005

Hi,

I would not worry too much about it. It is very possible that virus spreading scripts collect information from various computers and sites where your address is also available, and occasionally manage to package a credible message with your name and your activity strategically placed to make you click on the virus file.