https://www.proz.com/forum/safe_computing/43055-backup_suggestions_software_and_source_files.html

Backup suggestions - software and source files
Thread poster: achisholm
achisholm
achisholm
United Kingdom
Local time: 21:56
Italian to English
+ ...
Feb 25, 2006

I do most of my actual work on a jumbo screen "laptop" (P4 3GHz) running Win XP home. The computer has a 120GB HDD, DVD-RW, 4 USB ports ports and a firewire port. In terms of available equipment I have a 1GB USB pen drive, and a 60GB USB portable drive.

I would like to be abe to perform "disaster recovery" backups. I.e., backups with all my most recent work, trados TMs, emails etc.

Since I am a freelance writer/translator, I assume that my work tools/requirements are pr
... See more
I do most of my actual work on a jumbo screen "laptop" (P4 3GHz) running Win XP home. The computer has a 120GB HDD, DVD-RW, 4 USB ports ports and a firewire port. In terms of available equipment I have a 1GB USB pen drive, and a 60GB USB portable drive.

I would like to be abe to perform "disaster recovery" backups. I.e., backups with all my most recent work, trados TMs, emails etc.

Since I am a freelance writer/translator, I assume that my work tools/requirements are pretty much the same as most people using this site.

I use office, mostly word, and so my custom dictionary is quite extensive (lots of chemical names accumulated over the years). I also use Trados and do a lot of communication by email.

Ideally, I would like to find an application that would allow me to backup selected folders (those containing my word and trados files) and also if possible my Outlook files, and my custom dictionary from word. I'm sure there are other files I've forgotten to mention here, so please feel free to suggest any - again assuming you're a translator/writer working in a similar way to me.

Again, ideally, I would like to back this up to my 60GB USB drive (so there will be quite a bit of space).