Mara Ballarini
Mara Ballarini  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 14:04
Member (2006)
English to Italian
+ ...
Nov 13, 2007

Hi everyone. I've always used Norton, but now that my licence is expiring, a friend has suggest to use download avast!, which is free, and use it together with ad-aware. The fact that it's free but, worries me a little bit, I must say, so I was wondering if anyone uses it and is happy with it, or if you have any relevant suggestions.
thank you all in advance!
have a good day!

Mara

nordiste
nordiste  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 06:04
English to French
+ ...
one of the best s- higly recommended Nov 13, 2007

I've been using it for 5 years or so - very reliable and easy to use.

The free version is for non-commercial usage. It has all the basic features to protect your PC.

You can buy a pro version - at a very reasonnable price - it gives you additionnal features like reports, statitistics etc.

Damian Harrison (X)
Damian Harrison (X)
Germany
German to English
Avast is great Nov 13, 2007

Avast is much better than Norton. It contains less bugs, will not clutter your computer with undeletable files and does not disrupt the functions of vital programmes ( as Norton is sometimes prone to). It provides the same degree of security as Norton, if not better, and it does this for free.

Avast has also won a whole pile of major awards:

* SC Awards 2006 Finalist - Secure Computing Awards are the world’s leading awards program for the information secu
... See more
Avast is much better than Norton. It contains less bugs, will not clutter your computer with undeletable files and does not disrupt the functions of vital programmes ( as Norton is sometimes prone to). It provides the same degree of security as Norton, if not better, and it does this for free.

Avast has also won a whole pile of major awards: