| Pages in topic: [1 2] > |
| User | Thread poster: Linguistico Scammers using false email address - Linguistico |
Linguistico Australia Local time: 11:08 English |
Dear All
It has been brought to our attention that scammers, using a gmail account containing the word "Linguistico" have been sending translation offers in the name of our company, using our postal address and web address.
PLEASE NOTE THAT THESE OFFERS ARE IN NO WAY RELATED TO LINGUISTICO PTY LIMITED, LINGUISTICO (AUSTRALIA) PTY LIMITED, LINGUISTICO LIMITED, ITS OFFICERS OR AGENTS.
We have been alerted that similar activity has occurred in the past, using other email addresses similar to those of reputable companies, with dire results such as non-payment.
Please only accept work from a genuine Linguistico email address using a dot com dot au or a dot eu extension.
Many thanks for your time.
David | | | |
belindaccg China Local time: 09:38
Member (2008) English to Chinese + ... | | about the Scammers! | Oct 21, 2010 |
Hi!
I just got one e-mail from them. The e-mail address is linguistico.au@gmail.com. It is scammer? Could you please reply to me asap. Thanks!
Best Regards
Beinda | | | |
Linguistico Australia Local time: 11:08 English TOPIC STARTER | | Thanks Belinda | Oct 21, 2010 |
Yes, it is a scam. Please do not respond.
As noted, unless it comes from a linguistico dot com dot au or linguistico dot eu extension, it is not from us.
Thanks for notifying.
If you could forward the email to info at linguistico dot com dot au it would be greatly appreciated.
Best. | | | |
Prof. Angie G. Spain Local time: 03:38
 Member (2003) French to Italian + ... | | Probably it is a scammer | Oct 21, 2010 |
As they said:
| Please only accept work from a genuine Linguistico email address using a dot com dot au or a dot eu extension. |
|
So no gmail.com extension. | | | |
Joanna Chow China Local time: 09:38 German to Chinese + ... | | very urgent about Linguistico | Oct 26, 2010 |
Hello David,
I just did a few jobs for linguistico.au@gmail.com. Can you tell me it is your company or not? Now I am very worrying about it. The contact person is Amanda.
Regards,
Joanna Chow
[修改时间: 2010-10-26 23:25 GMT] | | | |
Tomás Cano Binder, CT Spain Local time: 03:38
 Member (2005) English to Spanish + ... | | Don't be naïve!! | Oct 26, 2010 |
If you receive an email with a Gmail (or Yahoo, or Hotmail, or any other free service) account called like an actually existing company, how do you explain that they don't email using their domain name?? It is clearly scam! | | | |
Joanna Chow China Local time: 09:38 German to Chinese + ... | | if it is real, it is terrible for me | Oct 27, 2010 |
Hello David,
Thanks for your reply first. The contact person is Amanda. She used your website & telephone and she knows translation field well also. Is she your previous staff? Because I read your website and you have a staff named Amanda. Also in her first email, she quoted my resume which I sent to linguistico on May 2008 ( it was my previous resume which is made in 2008, how can she get my resume so early, it is very strange). So I was thinking that she is really from linguistico at that time. The problem is that I did the job one week ago but the payment term is 30 days. So I don't get the payment yet. Now you said she is not legal. How can I get the payment? The translation amount is more than 1000 USD.
The jobs I did are from the famous customers. If she is fake, how can she get the translation job from the customers? If you can give me any instruction, your help would be greatly appreciated.
Regards,
Joanna Chow | | | |
Linguistico Australia Local time: 11:08 English TOPIC STARTER |
Joanna
Thank you for your seven emails received overnight in relation to this matter.
Unfortunately, Tomás is correct. You should always conduct your own due diligence when taking on translation work and never accept instructions from a webmail address.
We take all such matters very seriously at Linguistico and you can be assured that we have undertaken all steps necessary to ensure that our freelancers are aware of the situation and that our company's reputation remains solid.
Best,
David | | | |
Joanna Chow China Local time: 09:38 German to Chinese + ... | | about the scammer | Oct 27, 2010 |
Hello David,
On your website, there is no domain name mail box. So if i want to get your domain box, possilby I need to send the email to you first. Besides, some small customers like using gmail or yahoo mail as working mail. So I didn't pay high attention on this issue.
It is my first time to meet the one who use the other company title to do this behavior. It is really tricky. Generelly the scammer is using their own title to do this behavior.
Once again, would you like to tell me if this Amanda was working in your company before so she knows your company and translation field so well?
Thanks!
Joanna Chow | | | |
Linguistico Australia Local time: 11:08 English TOPIC STARTER | | Scams - Linguistico / gmail | Dec 13, 2010 |
Hi All
Further update to alert translators not to take instructions from purported Linguistico staff members using gmail or other webmail addresses. These are not genuine Linguistico staff or projects and we would urge caution when dealing with agencies using webmail addresses.
Despite the warnings, it appears that a few translators are still being caught out.
We have used our website, ProZ, Translators' Cafe and Twitter to alert translators but, if you are able to email a warning to your peers and link to this forum, it would be greatly appreciated.
Best,
David | | | |
Andrew Zhu China Local time: 09:38
Member (2009) English to Chinese + ... |
Yes, from this bulletin, it seems that I never see the Linguistico representative reveal his official email address. This is quite bewildering. | | | |
Andrew Zhu China Local time: 09:38
Member (2009) English to Chinese + ... |
I noted in the blueboard for Linguistico that there was one comment from a linguist as follows:
Darío Zozaya 1613 - 26551 Excellent outsourcer. Amanda and David are very corteous and professional. Punctual payment. I would be delighted to work for them again.
Amanda appears to still be an active memeber of Linguistico. I think David may have to explain this. | | | |
sibsab Israel Local time: 03:38
Member (2011) English to German + ... | | @Andrew and Joanna | Dec 22, 2010 |
Someone using the name of a real company would probably not hesitate to use a fake name. What better than a name of an actual employee of the real company? | | | |
mlconnections United States Local time: 20:38 English to Spanish + ... | |
Linguistico Australia Local time: 11:08 English TOPIC STARTER | | Just to keep this thread going - scams - be careful | Feb 6, 2011 |
Hi All
Further to the above discussion, I wanted to ensure that this thread remained open in order to continually warn translators of the dangers of working for purportedly genuine agencies which use a webmail address.
Please be vigilant and, in the case of Linguistico, we will only send emails from a linguistico.com.au or linguistico.eu extension.
If anyone receives anything suspicious, please do not hesitate to let me know.
Best,
David | | | |
| Pages in topic: [1 2] > |