StoyanovaT
Bulgaria
Local time: 06:36
Bulgarian to English
+ ...
Jun 12, 2015

Dear colleagues,
I hope you can help me with my problem.
I am a young translator and I didn't know that there are so many scams out there. So last year I was involved in one. It turned out to be a well-known scheme - a recruiter contacted me to offer me a freelance job. We contacted via e-mails and everything was fine. We agreed on rates, schedule, etc. Until one day, after I sent all my documents, rates and copies of my diplomas (!), this person stopped answering my e-mails. I con
... See more
Dear colleagues,
I hope you can help me with my problem.
I am a young translator and I didn't know that there are so many scams out there. So last year I was involved in one. It turned out to be a well-known scheme - a recruiter contacted me to offer me a freelance job. We contacted via e-mails and everything was fine. We agreed on rates, schedule, etc. Until one day, after I sent all my documents, rates and copies of my diplomas (!), this person stopped answering my e-mails. I contacted the central office of the agency (I can't tell the name, it is forbidden by Proz). I still have no response. This is an international agency with more than 10 offices worldwide, a website, physical addresses, etc. That's why I was so surprised by their unprofessional attitude.
My concern is that I gave them too much personal information, including the number of my Identity card
Is there anyone with similar experience? What should I do?

Thank you.

[Редактирано в 2015-06-12 13:08 GMT]
Collapse

Kuochoe Nikoi-Kotei
Kuochoe Nikoi-Kotei  Identity Verified
Ghana
Local time: 03:36
Japanese to English
Wait, did you actually do the job? Jun 12, 2015